Jump to main content.

National Advisory Council on Innovation & Entrepreneurship Quarterly Meeting

June 12, 2012

10:00 a.m. Call to Order & Opening Remarks - Desh Deshpande & Steve Case
10:05 a.m. Remarks by US Department of Commerce Senior Leadership
  • David Kappos, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
  • Pat Gallagher, Under Secretary of Commerce and Director for Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Matt Erskine, Acting Assistant Secretary for Economic Development (EDA)
10:45 a.m. Remarks by U.S. Secretary of Commerce John Bryson
11:00 a.m. Discussion between Secretary Bryson & NACIE membership
11:30 a.m. Remarks by Sean Greene, Associate Administrator for Investment & Special Advisor for Innovation, Small Business Administration (SBA)
11:45 a.m. Remarks by leadership of federal agencies engaged in R&D commercialization
  • Dr. Dedric Carter, Senior Advisor to the Director, National Science Foundation
  • Dr. Lawrence Tabak, Deputy Director, National Institutes of Health
  • Dr. Karina Edmonds, Director of Technology Transfer, US Department of Energy
12:30 p.m. Lunch Remarks by Tom Kalil, Deputy Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy & National Economic Council
1:15 p.m. Remarks by leadership of agencies related to entrepreneurial workforce
  • Jonathan Greenblatt, Special Assistant to the President and Director, Office of Social Innovation and Civic Participation
  • Alejandro Mayorkas, Director of United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
  • Karen Cator, Director, Office of Educational Technology, US Department of Education