Jump to main content.

Spotlight: Congress Allocates $587 Million to EDA to Assist Communities Impacted by 2018-2019 Natural Disasters

Caption below
Homes damaged by Hurricane Michael in 2018

In August, EDA announced that it published its Fiscal Year 2019 (FY2019) Disaster Supplemental Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), making $587 million available to eligible grantees in communities impacted by Presidentially declared natural disasters in 2018, and floods and tornadoes in 2019. This funding will support disaster recovery activities in areas receiving a major disaster designation as a result of Hurricanes Florence, Michael, and Lane, Typhoons Yutu and Mangkhut, wildfires, and other calendar year 2018 disasters, and floods and tornadoes in calendar year 2019.

This funding is in addition to the $587 million that Congress appropriated to EDA last year (FY 2018) to support local plans and activities to recover – and grow back stronger – following major disasters that occurred in calendar year 2017.

EDA disaster grants are made through its Regional Offices under the agency’s Economic Adjustment Assistance (EAA) Program (PDF), which enables EDA to make awards that support a wide range of construction and non-construction activities in areas that experience sudden and prolonged severe economic changes. Competitive applications are based on long-term, regionally-oriented, and collaborative development strategies that foster economic growth and resilience.

Eligible applicants under the EAA program include a(n): (i) District Organization of an EDA-designated Economic Development District (EDD); (ii) Indian Tribe or a consortium of Indian Tribes; (iii) State, county, city, or other political subdivision of a State, including a special purpose unit of a State or local government engaged in economic or infrastructure development activities, or a consortium of political subdivisions; (iv) institution of higher education or a consortium of institutions of higher education; or (v) public or private non-profit organization or association acting in cooperation with officials of a political subdivision of a State. EDA is not authorized to provide EAA grants to individuals or for-profit entities.

There are no application deadlines and the agency will accept proposals on a rolling basis until the publication of a new Disaster Supplemental NOFO, cancellation of this NOFO, or all funds are obligated. Disaster recovery projects must be consistent with the U.S. Department of Commerce Disaster Recovery Investment Priorities.

For more information, please visit our "EDA Disaster Supplemental" webpage.

Resource Directory Disaster Recovery Annual Reports Stay Connected
(Subscribe to EDA's monthly e-newsletter)

Facebook icon Twitter icon LinkedIn icon YouTube icon