Jump to main content.

A bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce
Funding Opportunities Background

Office of Innovation and
Entrepreneurship (OIE)

Regional Innovation Strategies (RIS) Program

On January 11, 2017, EDA issued a final rule applicable to the Regional Innovation Strategies (RIS) Program.

EDA’s Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship (OIE) leads the Regional Innovation Strategies (RIS) program to spur innovation capacity-building activities in regions across the nation. The program is authorized through the America COMPETES reauthorization Act of 2010 and received dedicated appropriations for the first time in fiscal year 2014.

2016 RIS Program

On Tuesday, November 15, 2016, EDA announced the 2016 Regional Innovation Strategies (RIS) program grantees. In this 2016 round, a total of $15 million in Federal funding was available for the creation and expansion of cluster-focused proof-of-concept and commercialization programs and early-stage seed capital funds through the i6 Challenge and the Seed Fund Support (SFS) Grant competition, respectively.

To stay up-to-date on the latest RIS program news, including announcements of any future funding opportunities, please check this page regularly and sign up for EDA’s newsletter.

Resources:

Have Questions?

For questions about applying for this program or for more information about EDA programs, you may contact the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship or your appropriate EDA Regional Office RIS Point(s) of Contact:

Regional Office Point of Contact Email Phone
Headquarters Office of Innovation and
Entrepreneurship
oie@eda.gov (202) 482-8001
Atlanta Robin Cooley rcooley@eda.gov (803) 253-3640
Austin Chris Rys crys@eda.gov (512) 381-8157
Chicago Kyle Darton kdarton@eda.gov (312) 789-9752
Denver Justin Fazzari jfazzari@eda.gov (303) 844-4089
Philadelphia Chivas Grannum cgrannum@eda.gov (215) 597-8723
Seattle Brian Parker bparker2@eda.gov (206) 220-7675