Jump to main content.


This site contains information that has been considered archived and will no longer be updated. Please click here to go to the CURRENT eda.gov website.

A bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce
Funding Opportunities Background

Office of Innovation and
Entrepreneurship (OIE)

i6 Challenge Winners' Conference 2012

An i6 Challenge winner's conference was held at the White House Conference Center in Washington, DC on October 2, 2012. All 19 i6 Challenge winners attended - six each from 2010 and 2011 and seven from 2012. During the conference, winner representatives delivered presentations on their projects/proposals. They also heard from three leaders in the field of innovation and from officials from many federal agencies with innovation programs. During the day, there were multiple opportunities for one-on-one interactions with federal officials and for networking among i6 Challenge winners.

View the Agenda (PDF)

Photo Gallery

Click on image for larger version

Matt Erskine, Acting Assistant Secretary for Economic Development for the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA), speaks to the group The group hears from three leaders in the field, Rosibel Ochoa, Director of the von Liebig Entrepreneurism Center at University of California, San Diego; Krisztina 'Z' Holly, former Director of the University of Southern California Stevens Center for Innovation; and Raj Melville, Executive Director, Deshpande Foundation, in a discussion moderated by Nish Acharya, Director of the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship.
Eric Gulve, President of BioGenerator (2010 i6 Challenge Winner) presents. Dave Norris, Executive Director of the Louisiana Tech Enterprise Center (2011 i6 Challenge Winner) presents
The group listens to a presentation. Jodi Black, National Institutes of Health, presents.
Rathindra (Babu) DasGupta, National Science Foundation, presents Nish Acharya, Director of the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship talks with Rich Lunak, President and CEO of Innovation Works (2010 i6 Challenge Winner).
Patricia Sullivan, Assistant Dean of College of Engineering at New Mexico State University (2012 i6 Challenge Winner) talks with Joe Misanin, Office of the Secetary of Defense. Kathy Hansen, COO of the Arrowhead Center at New Mexico State University (2012 i6 Challenge Winner) talks with Andrew Wilson, Executive Director of the New England Clean Energy Foundation (2011 i6 Challenge Winner)