EDA University Centers and Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs)

Six HBCUs have EDA University Centers designations as part of EDA's efforts to ensure equity and diversity in economic development. Learn more about the programs at these UCs via the links below.

State University Center Regional Office
South Carolina Claflin University Atlanta
Florida Florida A&M University Atlanta
North Carolina Fayetteville State University Atlanta
Louisiana Southern University and A&M College Austin
Maryland University of Maryland at College Park and Morgan State University Philadelphia


Between November 12 – 18, 2020, The Economic Development Administration (EDA), in collaboration with the White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities (The Initiative) and the National Association of Development Organizations (NADO), hosted a regional webinar series entitled, EDA and HBCUs: Cultivating Strategic Engagement for Regional Economic Development. This series is an extension of the White House National HBCU Week and Conference that was held virtually from September 21 – 25, 2020.

This webinar series is designed to provide the HBCU community with valuable information describing how HBCUs can effectively engage with EDA resources, including its network of regional partners to support the development of inclusive, innovative, and competitive regional economies. This includes case study presentations offered by HBCUs located in each of the following EDA regions, and which highlight examples of previous and current collaboration between HBCUs, EDA, and other stakeholder organizations such as Economic Development Districts (EDDs).