Jump to main content.


This site contains information that has been considered archived and will no longer be updated. Please click here to go to the CURRENT eda.gov website.

A bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce


Highlight: U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker Redesignates 12 Manufacturing Communities

October 2016 Newsletter

Caption below
Map of 24 IMCP-designated manufacturing communities across the country

On September 27, 2016, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker announced the redesignation of 12 manufacturing communities under the Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership (IMCP) initiative. The communities were all initially designated under the first round of the IMCP competition in 2014.

The IMCP is an EDA-led program designed to accelerate the resurgence of manufacturing in communities nationwide by supporting the development of long-term economic development strategies that help communities attract and expand private investment in the manufacturing sector and increase international trade and exports.

To earn the initial designation, communities had to demonstrate the strength of an existing manufacturing industry in their region/community and develop strategies to make investments in six areas: workforce and training; research and innovation; infrastructure and site development; supply chain support; trade and international investment; and operational improvement and capital access.