Jump to main content.


This site contains information that has been considered archived and will no longer be updated. Please click here to go to the CURRENT eda.gov website.

A bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce


Press Release

Commerce Department Supports Disaster Recovery Efforts in Wisconsin

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke today announced a $2.1 million U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) grant to the Town of Spring Green, Sauk County, and the Wisconsin Department of Transportation to support infrastructure improvements and the implementation of an economic strategy to expedite recovery efforts of the region, including the villages of Spring Green and Lone Rock, Wis., which were severely impacted by the 2008 Midwest floods.

"The Obama Administration is committed to creating jobs and helping communities that are still struggling to rebuild their local economies after natural disasters, especially those like the towns and villages in Wisconsin," Locke said. "This EDA grant will provide important resources to the region to assist in the ongoing efforts to recover from the 2008 floods and to better protect the area from future disasters."

A portion of the investment will help with the construction of a drainage swale for direct storm water runoff from the Big Hollow watershed to prevent further damage. In 2008, the residents living in Sauk, Richland and Iowa counties, and Spring Green and Lone Rock villages were severely impacted by torrential rains and tornadoes, which caused extensive flood damage and evacuations.

About the U.S. Economic Development Administration (www.eda.gov): This year, the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) marks 45 years of public service, with a mission of leading the federal economic development agenda by promoting competitiveness and preparing American regions for growth and success in the worldwide economy. EDA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce that partners with distressed communities throughout the United States to foster job creation, collaboration and innovation.